Always Movin’ & Shakin’

Good afternoon, everyone! I hope your Thursday is off to a fantastic start. First of all, cherries are back in season? I picked some up at the store yesterday. So good!

photo (8)

This weekend, we are planning on running a 5K in Madison, WI and then heading off to a Milwaukee Brewer’s game! More pictures and details to come…

I wanted to share tips for remaining motivated with your exercise routine. Most people begin working out feeling great, but fizzle out over time. Have you heard the quote, “If you are tired of starting over, stop quitting.”?

….Well, I think that’s a little harsh. My style is more supportive! So I hope to provide you helpful tips to maintain your motivation!

1) “Change your thoughts and you will change your world” Begin believing that you are capable of reaching your fitness goals. Stop viewing your ability to become fit as an uphill battle. Just like anything in life, it builds slowly over time. You will accomplish your goals if you repeatedly believe that you can!

2) “The early bird catches the worm” Some people find it easiest to workout in the morning. I personally have struggled with this but am currently trying! Regardless of the best time for you, it’s important that your workout time is consistently scheduled. Consider the morning before going work and school if it’s feasible. Otherwise, afternoons or evenings work too. Mark the same time off in your calender daily (if possible) for best results.

3) “I count my success in miles, not pounds.” Recognize that any exercise is better than no exercise. You are doing your body good by simply moving! Begin by taking a walk around the block and eventually increasing your speed and distance. Also, remember that your weight does not always accurately reflect the benefits you are providing to your body through exercise. I was told by a nutrition professor that an active, overweight person can be healthier than an average weight, inactive person. Finally, as mentioned in my previous post, what you eat is equally as relevant as what you do for activity. You can learn more about that here.

4) “If your dreams don’t scare you, they aren’t big enough.” It’s okay to dream of a new goals (fitness, career, school, whatever!) Set your goals and then communicate them to others. Individuals around you provide support and remind you of your desires when you are feeling down/disinterested. Consider putting in writing what you hope to accomplish through your fitness goals. Maybe it’s a 5K walk or being able to complete 10 laps in the swimming pool. After you have written down your initial goals, hang them up in a visible location and communicate to others who you know will support you.

My current goals!

photo (5)

Other tangible things could be…

  • Creating a workout calender with sticky notes put on each day. After you have completed a workout, the take sticky note off. (Shout out to Evan’s sister, Natalie for the idea!)
  • Tracking your workouts on phone apps. Over time, you will see all of the days you have been active. Examples of these apps can be found in my previous post here.
  • Putting $1 in a jar for every completed workout. Once you have a set amount of money, purchase yourself something nice. (Maybe new workout clothes or itunes money for new music?)

5559199510211090_nmrv30gl_c

(Source)

Are you feeling motivated yet? Keep it up! Pretty soon people will turn around and go, “Who is that good looking, healthy person?!” (See face below)

200064_1633666613660_7918187_n

Me and Katie–New Orleans 2011 πŸ™‚

I’m off to go shopping with a friend–have a great day!

-Chelsey

Daily Question (anyone can comment below): How do you remain motivated to exercise?

5 thoughts on “Always Movin’ & Shakin’

  1. Sounds like you are going to have a great time. Great tips and advice. Since I started blogging, I have been more motivated ever to be productive and get back in shape. My goal this summer is to run a 5k at least once. Great post and keep up the awesome work πŸ™‚

  2. Hi friend! Just wanted to add that since you’re moving near me soon and I know we’ll be workout buddies and I also know you are more consistent than me, that is what makes me motivated. The people (including you) I surround myself with all workout and it helps me stay moving!

What are your thoughts?

