A Foodie Weekend

Happy Memorial Day! I hope you are enjoying your potential extra day off and recognizing those who have served!

Evan and I have been loving our weekend back in Wisconsin with family. We spent most of yesterday alternating between relaxing and shopping. For lunch, we ended up in downtown Milwaukee at Whole Foods. Their salad bar is the BEST. I grabbed a bowl and quickly filled it up!

photo (12)

As you can see below, I included a hodgepodge of greens. I began with a base of baby spinach and built it up through layers of fresh veggies, tofu, noodles, and chicken salad. I topped off the bowl with some sesame ginger salad. My favorite part was the kale detox salad which included mandarin oranges and cabbage. You can see it on the top center part of the picture below. Yumm….an easy way to enjoy clean eating!

photo (8)

After more shopping and relaxing, we headed home to catch up with the rest of Evan’s family. I took a little nap (that’s what vacation is for, right? :)) Upon waking up, I could smell dinner cooking downstairs. Evan is the better cook between the two of us. He  took it upon himself to make us fresh fish tacos! He grilled Tilapia and made homemade guacamole with pico de gallo. It was a perfectly light and fresh dinner spent with family.

photo (11)

Of course, afterwards we HAD to get some ice cream. We went to a creamery nearby that makes their own custard. I chose a local favorite which is the “Cake Batter Shake”. It was wonderful and extremely filling.

photo (9)

So far today,  I got outside for a 3 mile run. The rain and wind made it difficult but I persevered.  I downloaded “Map My Run+” app today on my iPhone. I was able to hear my milage and pace time through my headphones. The app kept me motivated and engaged while listening to music.

Screen Shot 2013-05-27 at 12.24.06 PM

Upon coming home, I had an egg sandwich and took a shower.

photo (10)

Now we are watching a recording of Superbowl 45 when the Green Bay Packers played the Steelers. When in Rome…

Enjoy your day!

-Chelsey

Question of the Day: What is your favorite thing to put on a salad?

3 thoughts on “A Foodie Weekend

  1. This post made me so hungry. My favorite salad is baby spinach with almonds and strawberries with a honey mustard vinaigrette. But if I have to pick my favorite topping of an everyday salad I’d clearly pick cheese. 🙂

    Can’t wait to hear about your new shoes!

What are your thoughts?

