California Lovin’

Good afternoon!

I hope your day went great. Work went well for me–although sitting at a computer for long periods of time sometimes makes me go crazy!

Lunch time rolled around quickly, which included a huge spinach salad with sides of carrots and Chobani. (Don’t worry–I have been snacking all day on top of lunch).

Image

I was anxious to head to the gym after work today to do an elliptical interval workout. I figured a little endorphin release could do me some good. I typically print out a workout like the one listed below and bring it with me to the gym. Changing the resistance level keeps things interesting…

Image

(Photo Source) 

This gloomy and cold weather in the Midwest has got everyone feeling down. I figured I would reminisce on my travels to a warmer and sunnier location….

San Francisco!

Evan and I saved our money this past year and rewarded ourselves with a fun spring break trip. We knew that our first year of graduate school had been an overwhelming transition. Looking forward to San Francisco was the silver lining to mark the end of a dreary winter.

Many people asked how we chose San Francisco and the Bay area….

When we first started dating, we quickly learned of our mutual passion for traveling. Within months we had a list of places that we had always dreamed of visiting. Europe was included on that list, which we ended up doing in July of 2011. You can read more about our European travels here.

Northern California was among many desirable locations on our dream list. We both love wine and had never been that far west. Sounds like good enough reasons to us… San Francisco it was! We arrived on a Saturday and stayed for 5 days.

ImageDowntown! (Palm Trees are not a sight seen in the Midwest)

ImageThe roads are extremely steep and hilly! This picture is looking over the cliff of the windiest road in America.

ImageSea Lions off  Pier 39. They commonly lay in this area year round to get a break from the tides.

ImageThe Ghirardelli Chocolate Factory (best ice cream sundae of my life)

ImageEvan and I at AT&T Park (home of the SF Giants basement)

ImageWine tasting in the  Napa Valley

Image The houses features on the 90’s TV show, Full House! (aka “The Painted Ladies”)ImageA classic Golden Gate Bridge picture

I found a quote that was quite telling to my philosophy on traveling….

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page” -St. Augustine 

Daily Question: Where have some of your favorite travels taken you?

Enjoy your evening!

-Chelsey

PS: If you like this blog, please “like” me on Facebook and by clicking the gray “follow” button on the bottom right part of your screen. 🙂

https://www.facebook.com/HealthyChelseyLately

One thought on “California Lovin’

  1. Pingback: The Simple Things A-Z | Healthy.Chelsey.[as of]Lately.

What are your thoughts?

