Sweet Potato Quesadillas

Happy Tuesday! I hope your week is off to a good start. I have been getting back into the swing of things at work after being home the weekend prior. Next week, I will be in Savannah visiting Evan. I can hardly wait 🙂

Work went well today. I enjoyed a great lunch! (I always look forward to lunch time) Today I had cherries, almonds, and an organic yogurt with a Spinach/Kale salad. Lately, I have been loving the dressing: Newman’s Own Asian Sesame Ginger. It really has a zesty zing at the end!

ImageAfter work, I headed to our campus gym and ran 3 miles around the indoor track followed by weights and abs. Below is a picture of me using the leg curl machine which targets the hamstring muscles.

ImageRunning outside in the summer (especially afternoon) is difficult for me. To learn more about exercising safely in the summer heat, click here.

For dinner, I enjoyed quesadillas with friends. We stuffed them with cheese, sweet potatoes, and black beans. They were a deliciously healthy (and vegetarian) dinner.

Sweet Potato Quesadillas

  • 4 whole wheat tortillas
  • 1 sweet potato, shredded
  • 1 can of black beans, drained and warmed on stove
  • 1 8 oz. bag of shredded cheese (we used pepperjack)
  • Additional fillers as desired (onions, tomatoes, peppers, etc.)

1. Line cookie sheet with tin foil and spray non-stick oil.

2. Load warmed black beans, sweet potatoes, cheese, and any other toppings onto quesadillas.

Image

3. Bake in over at 375 degrees for 15-17 minutes.

4. Top with salsa, guacamole, or sour cream. (optional)

ImageThis isn’t the greatest picture but it tasted delicious and was very filling. Black beans are full of fiber which gives you a feeling of fullness. Sweet potatoes are loaded with vitamin A, which aids in vision and skin health.

Tonight, I will be organizing my belongings for my Savannah trip. I can’t wait to post pictures and keep you all updated on my travels. I have heard it’s a beautiful place to vacation!

Looking ahead, I will soon be writing reviews on exercise clothing, running shoes, and easy summer meals. I hope you continue checking back. For an easy way to follow me, make sure to “like” my facebook page!

www.facebook.com/HealthyChelseyLately

Until next time–have a great evening!

-Chelsey

One thought on “Sweet Potato Quesadillas

  1. Pingback: Loaded Bacon and Cheese Sweet Potato Bake - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

What are your thoughts?

