High on Summertime [Snacks]

Happy Tuesday!  I hope you are all enjoying your day. I can’t wait for the holiday weekend!

I am anxiously awaiting tomorrow afternoon when I head back up north to Wisconsin to celebrate the 4th of July. It seems only appropriate to re-live my childhood memories of spending the holiday on the lake, watching fireworks from the boat. Although I love Iowa, it unfortunately lacks those sort of lakes (or at least friends nearby with boats). While in Wisconsin, I will be staying with my high school friend Katie. We plan on catching up, cooking, and laying in the sun. Can’t wait!

With the days being warm and the living easy, I thought I would provide some summer snack ideas. I have often wanted a quick pick me up at work but wasn’t sure where to turn. I hope these can prompt the juices to start flowing in the snack part of your brain.

Yogurt with fruit and granola. Sounds simple but BAM it hit me yesterday that I hadn’t had it in a while. You can even take min 6oz yogurt cups if you want it portioned properly. Top it with some Kashi GoLean Crunch! or your favorite granola. Berries are currently in season. Get them while they’re hot (or cold)…whatever.

Image

Frozen Grapes…what the heck does the freezer do to make grapes taste so much better when they are frozen? They are like little balls of sweetened juice, frozen of course.

Image(photo source)

Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwiches– mash bananas and peanut butter together to create a paste to place between two graham crackers. For extra deliciousness, you can stick the sandwich in the freezer for an ice cream sandwich (without all of the extra calories).

Image

(Photo Source)

Yogurt Dip with Apple Slices. I recently made a yogurt dip that consisted of Greek yogurt, cinnamon and peanut butter. Those mixed together resulted in an addicting and satisfying dip for my honey crisp apples. (this would work well for a Fall snack as well)

Image

Does that help? I am currently hungry so I figured food would be the best bet for this blog post. I am off to go for a evening run. Happy, Happy Summer 🙂

Question: What is your favorite thing to eat in the summer?

-Chelsey

3 thoughts on “High on Summertime [Snacks]

  1. Great snack ideas Chelsey. My favotite thing to eat in the summer is watermelon! As an added bonus there is little to no prepreation required. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

